Niggly knees and slow progress

16 07 2010

Just over three months to go until the Birmingham Half Marathon and I don’t feel as though I’m on track at all.  I’ve been away this week and despite packing my trainers and running gear I managed one run, which whilst a bit sluggish at least had the effect of dirtying up my trainers a little bit.

Running

The summer so far has been a whirlwind of hectic but rewarding film projects (including an extensive project for the Lichfield Festival and a placement at Frankley Community High School for the Radiate training scheme), interspersed with some time out with family and three fantastically romantic weddings.  However, running, cycling and yoga have taken a backseat. And I think it’s going to hurt if I don’t up a gear soon.

So, this is me giving myself a bit of a kick. James is off mountain biking this weekend, so I’m determined to switch off the computer, put on my running shoes and tot up some miles.  I’m also going to make time to cycle over to a class at the Iyengar Institute in Acocks Green to focus myself a bit and try to deal with a niggly knee that’s been bugging me for a couple of weeks now.  I have a weekend of Yoga lined up in August with Pankaj Sharma, a wonderful Indian instructor that my friend Julie has convinced to come to Brum for a second year running.  More on that later.

In the meantime, if anyone can enlighten me as to what a pain at the top of my shin could be that hurts when I put weight on it, that would be muchly appreciated…

Actions

Information

One response

30 12 2011
A further Rachel achievement « Everyday Stories of Rachel & James

[…] I write on here about my sporty goals something comes along and throws me off course.  Back in July 2010 I got all excited about my running, only to limp through the rest of the year with a knee injury.  […]

Leave a Reply

