Iyengar Yoga Weekend

16 07 2010

Almost two years ago my friend Julie who had just qualified as an Iyengar Yoga Instructor decided to start her own lessons.  I decided to go along to support her, and because I was feeling my usual frustration at the cycle of trying and failing to run/cycle/swim/take time out.  Those first lessons completely changed my perception of Yoga – I’d previously dismissed it as not really being ‘proper’ exercise, as something that didn’t fit in with my need for aerobic exercise.  Instead I discovered something which made me feel fitter, stronger, more focused and happier.

Last year Julie arranged for Pankaj Sharma, a Yoga Instructor whose classes she had attended in Rishikesh, India, to come to Birmingham for a weekend course.  I think that I’ve been buzzing off it ever since.

Pankaj will be coming to Birmingham again this August and I’d really recommend signing up.  It’s not only a great chance to have some excellent guidance from someone who is passionate and really knows his stuff, it’s also a really sociable weekend.  His website describes his approach as playful and light, and I’d definitely agree with that – there’s nothing scary or intimidating about it.  It’s at the Buddhist Centre in Moseley on 7th and 8th August and costs £65 (£55 concs).  Contact Julie at booliejacob@hotmail.com to book.  Full details below…

Panjaj Yoga Poster 2010

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

